Corey D. Lane of Loveland, CO, Public Works Department, Fleet Management, has been named the 2017 Emergency Vehicle Technician (EVT) of the Year by Firehouse.

Lane has maintained the Master Level EVT Certification for over 11 of his 22 years of service to the city and the Loveland Fire Rescue Authority (LFRA).

The letters nominating Lane focused on his “passion for providing service to Loveland Fire Rescue” and his 24/7 commitment to keeping the Loveland fire fleet safe and current on inspections and repairs. For two years in a row, the LFRA fleet availability was over 98 percent, a nominator said, adding that “…this can only happen having the right person leading the charge, that person is Corey Lane.”

The second place winner is Jeff Morris, Fleet Crewleader for the Fort Worth, TX, Fire Department. Besides being a Master EVT and Automotive Service Excellence (ASE), Morris is also a member of the Texas Intrastate Fire Mutual Aid System Strike Team 197 and was deployed two weeks during Hurricane Harvey. Morris is also active in the Texas Association of Emergency Vehicle Technicians.

Al Hasenfratz, EVT/Mechanic, Sylvania Township, OH, came in third place. With 30 years of experience in vehicle repair, the last 11 years at Sylvania Fire Department, Hasenfratz has changed the mechanic/firefighter dynamic. He is a member of the Ohio Association of EVTs and is an alternate to the NFPA 1071 Committee.

Fourth place went to William T. Palmer, Lead Fire Mechanic for the Charleston, SC, Fire Department. Palmer has over 35 years experience and in the past three years Charleston has experienced hurricanes and floods that required countless hours of preparation to ensure the safety of firefighters and the community.

Fifth place was awarded to Casey Stephenson, EVT, Salina, KS, Fire Department. A Master EVT and ASE,  Stephenson has assisted in vehicle specifications, revamped how tools and equipment are repaired, and remodeled an ambulance in-house, saving thousands of dollars for the department. The nomination states, “Our pride WILL ride with Casey…because he puts all his effort into keeping us and the citizens safe.”

The 2017 EVT of the Year Award is sponsored by Spartan Motors and will be presented to Corey Lane during the Fire Department Safety Officers Association’s Apparatus Symposium, Jan. 15, 2018, in Scottsdale, AZ.

“The  emergency vehicle technicians job and how well they prepare and maintain the many vehicles and equipment for their departments is not only important to the firefighters and paramedics but also directly contributes to the lives of those individuals that are being rescued,” Spartan Emergency Response Vice President Mike Virnig. “This is why the industry as a whole must strive to make significant learning curve advancements from the experts in this field. Spartan is extremely proud to sponsor the EVT Award and wishes to thank all of those who go above and beyond every day to make this practice a reality.”

Press Release from Photo credit: City of Loveland